I’m blogging. Now What?

Posted: January 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

(This entry could also be referred to as “My Overwhelming Love of Ellipses”

(You know…those little “…” things I throw in everywhere? Can’t use those as much on Twitter.)

(What? Oh yes…the blog!)

Why?

Why am I trying another blog knowing I’ll most likely forget it after a few entries?

Why would anyone read it?

Why?

I’m not a bl0gger. I’ve tried it before. I’ve failed before. The last entry on my class blog refers to the upcoming first day of school. (At least it was for this school year…that’s something, right?) I also have a blog for the NEVERENDING process of remodeling my house.  I do actually update that one when there’s stuff to update. However, I rarely have the $ to do much around the house so there’s not a lot to write about. (I will be re-doing the bathroom in the next couple of months due to an incident involving my 9 year old, a hammer, and the bathroom sink…so expect an update soon!)

 

I’m a tweeter.  I big pink puffy heart love Twitter. It’s short. It’s sweet. It’s just my style. Twitter gives me a forum for the kind of communication I do best-the quick reply. Go ahead and check my tweets! I do more responding and re-tweeting than I do posting of my own original content. (Okay, don’t really check my tweets. Although I do stand by what I said it’s possible that,  mathematically speaking, I’m wrong. So let’s avoid any unpleasantness and just take my word for it. )

This blog thing is a lot of pressure for me. The blinking cursor taunts me…and there’s all this white space to fill.  What the heck am I supposed to write about? Will my friends in my Twitterverse discover I’m only clever in 140 characters and a miserable failure in a longer form of composition?

Do I dig deep and discuss my teaching practice and the most up to date research that supports that practice? Uh…no. Not that there’s anything wrong with that kind of blog…it’s just not me.

What about discussion of current events and political happenings? That’s a little more my speed but again…no. That would look a lot like this:

blah blah blah Random Politician blah blah blah

blah blah blah This is what I think blah blah blah

blah blah blah

blah blah blah

But hey, that’s just my opinion and yours is equally valid

(Unless you’re Sarah Palin)

I can’t see an entire blog of that, can you?

One of my fabulous MUWP (that’s Marshall University Writing Project for you non-NWPers) sisters suggested using my tweets as inspiration for my blog. Maybe I’ll do that. We’ll see, I suppose.

 

 

Comments
  1. Paul Oh says:

    I’m hooked. 🙂 Can’t wait until your next post.

  2. Erin says:

    Hahaha. I wrote a blog post very similar to this one a year or so back. I believe the title was “Themeless Blogging. Blah blah blah.” It’s still on my old wordpress, where all posts were eventually switched to Private.

    But look at me now! I finally found something I want to write about and I have stopped trying to be so eloquent and smart.

    My advice? Do what you want. You love Twitter? Embrace it. Post screen shots of inspiring Twitter moments. You could make Twitter collages. Song lyrics made up entirely of tweets? Twitter “Song of the Day.” Haha.

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

