Snow days: A love/hate relationship

Posted: January 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

It seems like my state has had a ridiculous amount of snow days and/or delays in the last few years. In the not so recent past we might have 1 or 2 days off but several delays. Now, we’re up to 7 snow days and at least as many delays…there’s even an early dismissal tossed in there.

I ❤ snow days. It’s like a little gift from the snow gods that says, “You work hard. You deserve a little extra time off.” Delays are nice because I get that extra time to get my herd out the door in the morning. (For those that don’t know, I’m the “late” teacher at school.)

 

The problem is that snow days/delays make me lazy.

 

Originally a 4 day week anyway due to a teacher work day on Monday, we’ve only had 1 full day of class so far. Tuesday started a new semester. That brought with it a modified schedule to add time for homeroom. Also, much of my class time was devoted to going over classroom rules and procedures. We also had a fire drill.  Wednesday brought an early dismissal for snow and today was a delay. Guess what else…tomorrow looks good for another delay. All of this does great things for student attendance and motivation. *insert dramatic sigh* (For those that don’t know, I’m also the sarcastic teacher at school.)

 

I’m very much a creature of my environment. If I’m around excited, motivated people then I’m an excited, motivated person. If I’m around sleepy, would-rather-be-somewhere-else people, I’m a sleepy, would-rather-be-somewhere-else person. I can fake my enthusiasm for a day or so, but this week has been too much. I’m following my lesson plans (slightly modified to accommodate the craziness) and the students are still working, but our hearts aren’t in it. We’re ready for spring and some normalcy in our schedule. Sadly, it doesn’t look like that will happen any time soon.

 

 

Comments
  1. Luke H. says:

    Man, living in Cali I have no idea what this would be like, but thanks to you, now I have a little picture. Sounds tough. Hang in there though and thanks for sharing:-)

Leave a Reply

