#poemaday 3 (I cheated)

Posted: April 4, 2011 in Uncategorized
I originally wrote this in SI 2010…too brain fried to write something new today.
ADVICE FROM A SINGLE PARENT

Don’t see the pile of laundry tossed into a corner-see the grass stained knees and chocolate-stained shirt after a long day of play.

Ignore the dishes piled in the sink. Instead see and smell the meal. Hear the sounds of a boisterous family dinner.

Getting up and ready for work at 5 AM is hard, be thankful for the reason to wake.

Grubby hands that stain a new skirt. Voices that whine when tired. Work that’s never done no matter how much sleep you don’t get. Bills you can’t pay. People you can’t please. Breathe.

Just breathe.

One more time…breathe.

Live. Laugh. Love. says the sign in the hallway. Remember this. You must live. You must laugh. You must love. The rest can wait. The clothes will still need washed. The dishes, I promise, will linger. Own those 3 words. Embrace them. Teach them. There’s a reason things become cliched.

 

Comments
  1. Joel Malley says:

    Thanks for sharing your words. I am sitting here at my computer too tired to correct papers and coming down off my frazzledness from watching my two boys ping pong off the couches for the past hour. Thanks for the perspective.

  2. Carol says:

    I am a single mom. I love, love, love my boys but there is NEVER a break. Just need to remember your words.

Leave a Reply

