How are you making it count?

Posted: August 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

“How are you making it count” is the theme of my bulletin board. To be honest, I figured themed bulletin boards we no longer part of my job description once I made the jump to teaching high school. Actually, for the first 2 years in HS my bulletin boards were designated for  housekeeping things-schedules, rules, etc…you know, the boring stuff.

I’ve been thinking a lot about creativity and passion this summer and wondering how I can bring more of it to my students. I also really want to work on how they see themselves and others…I want them to focus on the positive things in their lives and I want them to know they have a choice.T hey need to realize they have to take ownership of their learning.

I also need to do some music stuff in there, but that’s another blog post, isn’t it?

 

Back to my bulletin board. I came across this and knew I had to use it somehow…

In case that’s too hard to read, it says:

This is your LIFE.
Find a passion and pursue it.
Fall in love. Dream Big.
Drink wine, eat great food and spend quality time with good friends.
Laugh every day.
Believe in Magic. Tell stories.
Remininsce about the good old days but look with optimism to the future.
Travel often. Learn more. Be creative.
Spend time with people you admire.
Seize opportunities when they reveal themselves.
LOVE WITH ALL YOUR HEART.
Never give up.
Do what you love.
Be true to who you are.
Make time to enjoy the simple things in life.
Spend time with family.
Forgive even when it’s hard.
Smile often. Be grateful.
Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Follow your dreams.
Try new things. Work hard.
Don’t count the minutes, count the laughs.
Embrace change.
Trust in yourself.
Be thankful. Be nice to everybody.
Be happy. Live for today.
And above all…
Make Every Moment Count.

(Formatting mine.)

Aren’t those great messages for people/kids to hear?

So, that’s the centerpiece of my board. I added quotes that were special to me on little orange flower-lookin’ things I picked up at the Walmart. They go around the outside of the bulletin board.

Here are the quotes I used:

Man will begin to recover the moment he takes art as seriously as physics, chemistry or money.  ~Ernst Levy

We should give as we would receive, cheerfully, quickly, and without hesitation; for there is no grace in a benefit that sticks to the fingers.  ~Seneca

Each day comes bearing its own gifts.  Untie the ribbons.  ~Ruth Ann Schabacker

Change always comes bearing gifts.  ~Price Pritchett

Chase down your passion like it’s the last bus of the night.  ~Terri Guillemets

Follow your passion, and success will follow you.  ~Terri Guillemets

Don’t ask yourself what the world needs; ask yourself what makes you come alive.  And then go and do that.  Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.  ~Attributed to Howard Thurman

Without passion man is a mere latent force and possibility, like the flint which awaits the shock of the iron before it can give forth its spark.  ~Amiel, Journal, 17 December 1856

You can have anything you want if you want it desperately enough.  You must want it with an exuberance that erupts through the skin and joins the energy that created the world.  ~Sheila Graham

 To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.  ~e.e. cummings, 1955

 If you cannot be a poet, be the poem.  ~David Carradine

 It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.  ~e.e. cummings

 Never be bullied into silence.  Never allow yourself to be made a victim.  Accept no one’s definition of your life; define yourself.  ~Harvey Fierstein

 Wherever you go, go with all your heart.  ~Confucius

 Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.  ~Dr. Seuss

 You must have control of the authorship of your own destiny.  The pen that writes your life story must be held in your own hand.  ~Irene C. Kassorla

 You were born an original.  Don’t die a copy.  ~John Mason

 We should never forget that everything Adolf Hitler did in Germany was “legal” and everything the Hungarian freedom fighters did in Hungary was “illegal.”  ~Martin Luther King, Jr., “Letter from Birmingham Jail,” Why We Can’t Wait, 1963

 There is no failure except in no longer trying.  ~Elbert Hubbard

 Try again.  Fail again.  Fail better.  ~Samuel Beckett

 You can’t have any successes unless you can accept failure.  ~George Cukor

There is no failure.  Only feedback.  ~Robert Allen

“If you’re not prepared to be wrong, you’ll never come up with anything original.”
  ~Sir Ken Robinson

 

The kicker for the whole thing…I want my kids to find ways they’re making their lives count. I want them to take chances and fail. I want them to find what they’re passionate about. Then I want them to write it down and put it on my board. If they see someone making a difference (no matter how small) I want it to go up. If they take a risk that does or doesn’t pan out, I want it on the board.

It’s my own little social experiment. I wonder if their behavior will change once they begin to focus on their behavior and the behavior of their classmates.

I thought they/we could use these to post on the board.

 

My hope is my bulletin board becomes obscured with hundreds of brightly colored Post-its.

Wish me luck.

Comments
  1. dogtrax says:

    Good luck and great quotes!

  2. Gail Desler says:

    Thanks for sharing! I hope you’ll share out what your students add as the year goes on,

  3. Luke H. says:

    Great idea and excited to hear how it goes throughout the year.

  4. aprilestep says:

    Thank you guys for reading 🙂 I’m very excited and curious to see what the kids put on the board.

  5. Kimberly says:

    I hope this going well for you. I also hope you won’t mind if I borrow the idea. My focus is create an atmosphere a deeper questioning – of themselves, their community, their world. I like the idea of connecting some way outside themselves and publishing those connections – good and bad.

  6. Hey i just want to know where did you find that word art at i’ve been lookin for it for ages if I knew what it was called i could find it quicker.

Leave a Reply

