Why I teach? Music?

Posted: August 30, 2011 in Thinking out loud
Tags: , ,

I have this in a pseudo-nice wooden frame for my work area at school.

WHY I TEACH MUSIC

I don’t teach you music because it’s a science.

I don’t teach it because it’s math.

I don’t teach it because it’s a foreign language, and

I don’t teach it because it’s history.

I don’t teach you music because it’s physical education.

I don’t teach it for any of those reasons.

I teach it because it’s an art.

It allows a human being to take dry and boring things and create an emotion.

That’s one thing the computer still can’t do. It can’t create emotion.

I don’t teach you music because I expect you to go out and major in music.

I don’t teach it to you because I expect you to play or sing all your life, although I’d like you to.

I don’t teach it to you so you can relax and have fun either.

I teach it to you so you’ll be human.

…So you’ll recognize beauty…

…So you’ll be sensitive…

…So you’ll be closer to an infinite beyond this world…

…So you’ll have something to cling to…

…So you’ll have more love, and more compassion, and more gentleness…

In short, so you’ll have some more life.

Of what value is it going to be to you to make a prosperous living unless you’ve learned how to live?

That’s why I teach music.

The thing is, I don’t know that I want to teach music anymore.

I love music. I think it has the power to change lives. It gives me something I couldn’t find anywhere else.

But do I want to teach it? I’m not sure. It’s not like I want to teach some other discipline…it’s a question of staying in the classroom or not.

The question then becomes what would I do if I didn’t teach. I’m one of those “I’m a teacher, what the heck else could I be qualified to do???” kind of thinkers. While intellectually I know teaching gives me a ton of employable skills, the thought of actually applying those somewhere else is a bit intimidating.

I do love education. Even if I was out of the classroom, I’d like to stay in education. I’m incredibly interested in creating meaningful professional development…and of course the tech side of things always gets my juices flowing.

This blog entry has been one big ramble…just thinking through my fingers. I’m not going anywhere anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

